A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Perspective and Imagination


Today’s fantasy becomes tomorrow’s reality.   How many times have I dreamed up an idea and then seen someone come up with my idea in the form of a new invention, service, or design, and get credit for a brilliant new discovery? LOL

Everything from dish clothes to sweaters have been dreamed up and written about as fantasy before they became part of my reality.   What does this teach me about fantasizing about designing and experimenting?  Is it just a form of presenting new discoveries before they become functionally possible or practical?  (The well-writen Ruffle Kerfuffle Scarves and Cowl pattern, designed by my talented friend Michele Bernstein is just perfect for the season.)

Maybe my imagination is outstripping my ability to perform so I have to create new concept in the form of fantasy before I may express it as new reality.  Maybe I have to write about it before I may live it.  Maybe I am living it already and do not know that what I write is not fantasy, but, the real thing.

Can I travel into the future or go back to change the past without destroying the fragile “good” fabric of my world as it’s in the moment?

There are so many things to conceive of.  How do I know they have all not been thought of before?  How do I know they are not just fantasy, instead, a new reality I cannot yet comprehend?

When does my imagination run so wild that projecting the fantasy it creates becomes impossible to confirm as real?

When will I have answers to my questions?

How may I learn to translate the fleeting thoughts of new concepts into the actuality of multiple layers of existence and uncharted universes?  When does one person’s fantasy become another’s reality?  (Beautifully shown artwork in this post were from the Art in the High Desert–a juried fine art & craft festival with artists from across the country and Canada, on the banks of the Deschutes River in in the Old Mill District–a pleasant art stroll my hubby and I did in late August.  Next one is on August 23-25, 2013.  Don’t miss it.)

How do I really know what is real and what is not when imagination encircles my world?

How will I know the difference? How will I know whether it’s a illusion or really experiencing the result of my imagination?  How will I know when what I think and do is the real thing?  Does imagination create reality?

At the end of this long-winded pondering, I came to the conclusion that logic will get me from A to Z, but imagination will get me everywhere.

How about you?

It’s a beautiful, crisp colorful, and vibrant fall day!  I didn’t imagine it.  :D

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook!)

Comments on: "Perspective and Imagination" (1)

  1. Thanks for test knitting my scarf!
    Our imaginations can take us anywhere and everywhere. Dream on!

Leave a Reply

